Posted by: kurtalanweber | November 15, 2013

Let’s Travel Again.

It’s been almost 2 years since I updated my blog with my travel exploits. My recent phone call to Rwanda, to plan for our upcoming trip, has lent me reason to start it up again.

We are planning a 3 week trip to Africa – specifically, Kenya, Rwanda, and Tanzania. How else would someone spend their honeymoon? Naturally, basking in the 5-star luxury of the jungles, dry plains, and hardships of other countries.

This morning, a driver, who I met online, referred me to a hotel in the mountains of Rwanda. I logged into Skype and made the call to reserve the room.

how’s your French?

mine is not as strong as it used to be. I just tried calling that hotel that was referred to us. Since my 3 phrases of French, “Bonjour”, “comme ci comme ca”, and “Chevrolet” didn’t help much – I didn’t make too much progress on reserving a room.

I did gather that there was a room available on our destination date. I asked if i could email her, thinking that way i could use google translate or similar – and she gave me the email address in French. Normally, that would be ok, except, i don’t speak french – and she didn’t use ‘Chevrolet’ in the email address.

Stay tuned…


Leave a comment

Categories